06 Feb Stone Angels in the Peace Garden
Steeples Installs Historical Portland Stone Angels from The Dominican Convent Galway
The Dominican Convent, Taylor’s Hill, Galway, has a fascinating story. In 1644, the first Irish Dominican Nuns formed a community in Galway. Throughout their chequered history, they survived Cromwell’s soldiers (1652), exile in Spain (1652-1686), the Penal Laws in the 18th Century and the Great Famine (1845-1848). First they lived in New Tower Street (now St. Augustine Street) and then Kirwan’s Lane in a house called “the Slate Nunnery”.
Finally on the 4th June, 1845 they moved to a small house called “Seaview” on Taylor’s Hill. In 1858, a Day School for Young Ladies was established, classes being held in the parlour of the convent. In 1859, the Boarding School, Mount St. Joseph’s, opened with two pupils. Enrolments increased and new buildings were added to accommodate more boarders and day-pupils. The building of Rosary School was completed in 1958. St. Dominic’s, which was the boarding school until 1975, was opened in 1901 and was replaced in 2007 by a new building with state of the art facilities.